Close
(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
All Categories
    Filters
    Currency
    Search

    Modern Fiction


    View as Grid List
    Display per page

    The Best of Adam Sharp

    R250,00 R295,00

    See What I Have Done

    R260,00 R315,00
    'Eeerie and compelling' Paula Hawkins - SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE is a haunting retelling of the infamous Lizzie Borden murders from a dazzling debut novelist,

    My Brilliant Friend

    R270,00 R320,00
    A modern masterpiece from one of Italy's most acclaimed authors, "My Brilliant Friend" is a rich, intense, and generous-hearted story about two friends, Elena and Lila. Ferrante's inimitable style lends itself perfectly to a meticulous portrait of these two women that is also the story of a nation and a touching meditation on the nature of friendship. The story begins in the 1950s, in a poor but vibrant neighborhood on the outskirts of Naples. Growing up on these tough streets the two girls learn to rely on each other ahead of anyone or anything else. As they grow, as their paths repeatedly diverge and converge, Elena and Lila remain best friends whose respective destinies are reflected and refracted in the other. They are likewise the embodiments of a nation undergoing momentous change. Through the lives of these two women, Ferrante tells the story of a neighborhood, a city, and a country as it is transformed in ways that, in turn, also transform the relationship between her protagonists, the unforgettable Elena and Lila. Ferrante is the author of three previous works of critically acclaimed fiction: "The Days of Abandonment, Troubling Love," and "The Lost Daughter." With this novel, the first in a trilogy, she proves herself to be one of Italy's great storytellers. She has given her readers a masterfully plotted page-turner, abundant and generous in its narrative details and characterizations, that is also a stylish work of literary fiction destined to delight her many fans and win new readers to her fiction.

    Night School

    R260,00 R295,00
    In the morning, they gave Reacher a medal. And in the afternoon, they sent him back to school. It's just a voice plucked from the air: 'The American wants a hundred million dollars'. For what? Who from? It's 1996, and the Soviets are long gone. But now there's a new enemy.

    Nice Work (If You Can Get it)

    R300,00

    These Dividing Walls

    R270,00 R315,00
    These Dividing Walls is a prescient debut novel by a striking new voice in fiction, for fans of Emma Cline and Jessie Burton

    The Story of the Lost Child

    R290,00 R340,00
    This fourth and final installment in the series raises the bar even higher and indeed confirms Elena Ferrante as one of the world s best living storytellers. Here is the dazzling saga of two women, the brilliant, bookish Elena and the fiery uncontainable Lila. In this book, both are adults; life s great discoveries have been made, its vagaries and losses have been suffered. Through it all, the women s friendship, examined in its every detail over the course of four books, remains the gravitational center of their lives. Both women once fought to escape the neighborhood in which they grew up a prison of conformity, violence, and inviolable taboos. Elena married, moved to Florence, started a family, and published several well-received books. But now, she has returned to Naples to be with the man she has always loved. Lila, on the other hand, never succeeded in freeing herself from Naples. She has become a successful entrepreneur, but her success draws her into closer proximity with the nepotism, chauvinism, and criminal violence that infect her neighborhood. Yet somehow this proximity to a world she has always rejected only brings her role as unacknowledged leader of that world into relief. For Lila is unstoppable, unmanageable, unforgettable! Against the backdrop of a Naples that is as seductive as it is perilous and a world undergoing epochal change, this story of a lifelong friendship is told with unmatched honesty. Lila and Elena clash, drift apart, reconcile, and clash again, in the process revealing new facets of their friendship. The four volumes in this series constitute a long remarkable story that readers will return to again and again, and, like Elena and Lila themselves, every return will bring with it new discoveries.

    The Photographer's Wife

    R280,00
    Jerusalem, 1920: in an already fractured city, eleven-year-old Prudence feels the tension rising as her architect father launches an ambitious - and wildly eccentric - plan to redesign the Holy City by importing English parks to the desert. Prue, known as the 'little witness', eavesdrops underneath the tables of tearooms and behind the curtains of the dance-halls of the city's elite, watching everything but rarely being watched herself. Around her, British colonials, exiled Armenians and German officials rub shoulders as they line up the pieces in a political game: a game destined to lead to disaster. When Prue's father employs a British pilot, William Harrington, to take aerial photographs of the city, Prue is uncomfortably aware of the attraction that sparks between him and Eleanora, the English wife of a famous Jerusalem photographer. And, after Harrington learns that Eleanora's husband is a nationalist, intent on removing the British, those sparks are fanned dangerously into a flame. Years later, in 1937, Prue is an artist living a reclusive life by the sea with her young son, when Harrington pays her a surprise visit. What he reveals unravels her world, and she must follow the threads that lead her back to secrets long-ago buried in Jerusalem. The Photographer's Wife is a powerful story of betrayal: between father and daughter, between husband and wife, and between nations and people, set in the complex period between the two world wars.

    Mad

    R250,00 R295,00

    My Mother's Shadow

    R270,00 R315,00
    A perfect summer. A young woman in love. And a shocking secret kept for decades... This is an unputdownable read for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore.

    Stoffel: die beste stories

    R250,00 R325,00
    Met Stoffel: die beste stories, bring Human & Rousseau Christiaan Bakkes se beste Afrikaanse verhale byeen in 'n nuwe bundel. Hier val die klem op Bakkes se "Stoffel"-stories: verhale waarin Bakkes as Stoffel Mathysen figureer, maar wat op ware gebeure gebaseer is.

    Cometh the Hour

    R325,00 R385,00
    The sixth and penultimate book in the spellbinding, number one bestselling Clifton Chronicles.

    No Man's Land

    R255,00 R285,00

    The Mistress

    R250,00 R295,00
    Natasha Leonova's beauty saved her life. Discovered on a freezing Moscow street by a Russian billionaire, she has lived for seven years under his protection. Believing his generosity will always keep her safe, Natasha is careful not to dwell on Vladimir's ruthlessness or the deadly circles he moves in. Until she meets Theo Luca.

    The Spy

    R250,00 R295,00
    When Mata Hari arrived in Paris she was penniless. Soon she was feted as the most elegant woman in the city. A dancer who shocked and delighted audiences, as a confidante and courtesan she bewitched the era's richest and most powerful men. But as paranoia consumed a country at war, Mata Hari's lifestyle brought her under suspicion.

    The Ministry of Utmost Happiness

    R250,00 R295,00
    A richly moving new novel -- the first since the author's Booker-Prize winning, internationally celebrated debut, The God of Small Things, went on to become a beloved best seller and enduring classic.