Close
(0) items
You have no items in your shopping cart.
All Categories
    Filters
    Currency
    Search

    Modern Fiction


    View as Grid List
    Display per page

    Paths of Destiny

    R39,00 R227,79
    Amidst the battlefields of the Crimean War, love flourishes...

    An Untamed State

    R49,00 R175,00
    Mireille Duval Jameson is living a fairy tale. The strong-willed youngest daughter of one of Haiti's richest sons, she has an adoring husband, a precocious infant son, by all appearances a perfect life. The fairy tale ends one day when Mireille is kidnapped in broad daylight by a gang of heavily armed men, in front of her father's Port au Prince estate. Held captive by a man who calls himself The Commander, Mireille waits for her father to pay her ransom. As it becomes clear her father intends to resist the kidnappers, Mireille must endure the torments of a man who resents everything she represents. An Untamed State is a novel of privilege in the face of crushing poverty, and of the lawless anger that corrupt governments produce. It is the story of a wilful woman attempting to find her way back to the person she once was, and of how redemption is found in the most unexpected of places. An Untamed State establishes Roxane Gay as a writer of prodigious, arresting talent.

    Let Me be Frank with You: A Frank Bascombe Book

    R39,00 R280,00
    In his trio of bestselling novels -The Sportswriter, Pulitzer Prize and PEN/Faulkner winning-Independence Day, and The Lay of the Land - Richard Ford set out the zeitgeist of an entire generation, through the divining and wit of his now-famous literary chronicler, Frank Bascombe, one of the most indelible, provocative and anticipated characters in modern American literature. In Let Me Be Frank With You, Ford returns with four deftly linked Christmas stories narrated by the iconic Bascombe. Now sixty-eight, Frank resides again in the New Jersey suburb of Haddam, and has thrived - seemingly but not utterly - amidst the devastations of Hurricane Sandy. The desolations of Sandy, which left houses, shorelines and countless lives unmoored and flattened, are the perfect backdrop and touchstone for Ford - and Bascombe. With a flawless comedic sensibility and unblinking intelligence, these stories range over the full complement of universal subjects: ageing, race, loss, faith, marriage, the real estate debacle - the tumult of the world we live in. Through Bascombe - funny, profane, touching, wise, often inappropriate - we share the aspirations and sorrows, longings, achievements and failings of American life in the morning of the new century. With his trademark candour and brimming wit, Richard Ford brings Bascombe back in all his imperfect glory to say (often hilariously) what all of us are thinking but few will voice aloud.

    The Happy Ever Afterlife of Rosie Potter (RIP)

    R59,00
    * Falling in love is never simple ... * A very funny romantic comedy about Rosie Potter, who wakes up one morning to discover that she's very much dead but has no idea why or how. Perfect for fans of Claudia Carroll.

    Finding Mr Flood

    R59,00
    Dara Flood sets out to find the father she never knew ... A funny and moving book, warm and addictive as Marian Keyes.

    Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights

    R149,00 R290,00
    Dunia, a princess of the jinn, fell in love with a mortal man of reason. Together they produced an astonishing number of children, unaware of their fantastical powers, who spread across generations in the human world. Once the line between worlds is breached on a grand scale, Dunia's children and others will play a role in an epic war.

    The Seven Sisters

    R145,00 R170,00
    The first book in a new series from the number one international bestseller

    The Little Old Lady Who Struck Lucky Again!

    R79,00 R145,00
    You're never too old to have some fun ...

    The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

    R79,00 R195,00
    Originally published as The Collected Works of A. J. Fikry. The little book with the big heart - the New York Times bestseller that has won passionate fans around the world.

    Leaving Time

    R79,00 R195,00
    Number One bestselling author Jodi Picoult returns with her compulsive new novel - about the lengths we go to for those who have left us behind; about the staying power of love; and about how three broken souls might have just the right pieces to mend each other.

    To Kill a Mockingbird

    R85,00 R180,00
    When Scout's father, a lawyer, agrees to defend a black man against an accusation by a white girl, he must battle the prejudice of the whole town. It's about imagination - not just the kind you need for childhood games. Because you never really know a man until you stand in his shoes and walk around in them.

    Tightrope

    R69,00 R195,00
    A brilliant Cold War spy story from the Man Booker shortlisted author of The Glass Room

    The Year of Taking Chances

    R59,00 R180,00
    The bestselling author of The Beach Cafe is back with another warm and witty novel, all about New Year's Eve and brand new starts...

    Silver Linings: A Rose Harbor Novel

    R79,00 R160,00
    Since opening the Rose Harbor Inn, Jo Marie Rose has met fascinating people from all walks of life, but none have piqued her interest quite like handyman Mark Taylor. They are becoming more than just friends, yet he still won't reveal anything about his past, and then he tells her he's moving out of town.

    Stonemouth

    R59,00 R175,92
    Iain Banks at his very best - now a prime-time BBC drama.

    The Little Paris Bookshop

    R99,00 R195,00
    The international bestseller THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP is a delightful, bittersweet tale about the distance one man will travel for the sake of love and friendship.